My Thoughts: Interstellar

-This movie is so deep, Adele is practically rolling in it.

-So, over the past weekend, I got the chance to see the highly anticipated movie by Christopher Nolan called Interstellar. And I just have one thing to say: Prepare yourself for a whole lotta big words!

-Okay, maybe I lied and I actually have a few more things to say about the movie. But seriously, prepare for a lot of big words. I mean, seriously, big fancy smart words are just zipping by and sliding around the movie like nobody’s business to the point, it might require a degree of suspended belief to understand all the seemingly superficial science. Although I never considered myself as a smart person but considering this movie took more than four years to write and they had a couple of scientific consultants to help them, I’m just gonna assume it’s all correct after all, nod my head repeatedly and pretend that I understand what they’re talking about throughout the movie. “Blackholes, eh? I see, I see…”

-Anyway, I have been excited for Interstellar ever since it was announced last year. Being a dabbler of Christopher Nolan’s movies and a fan of the Sci-Fi genre, I had some pretty high expectations for this movie. And after watching it, I’d like to say that I pretty much liked it. Okay, those were my thoughts. End of post…

-Oh, you’re still here… Well then, uh… Hello, let’s just continue, shall we?

-The movie starts in the not too distant future where the planet is no longer capable of sustaining Humanity. Crops are constantly ravaged by blight, dust storms scours the land like they own the place and Humanity’s society has evolved to mainly concentrate on farming and agriculture leaving behind science and technology as useless frivolities of the imagination.

-So basically, without saying much spoilers about the actual plot, Michael Caine suddenly descended from the heavens above with his ever so majestic wings right in front of Matthew McConaughey. ‘Yo, we’re all doomed. Everyone is gonna die. So, go to space, find a planet that’s cool with us being there and then, we can move Humanity there instead and leave Earth.’ He said, his voice booming in the thickest and sweetest British accent you can imagine. Then Matthew retorts, trying to resist the honey that’s being poured into his ears, and was all like, ‘Man, I can’t do that. I have a family. I don’t want to leave them for so long with this space mission.’ And it was then, Micheal slammed dunk, unleashing his godly beard’s ancient magic and simply said, in his eternal wisdom, ‘Yo, if you don’t do this, your family is gonna die either way. So hey, just do it, you know…’ To which old Matty finally fell apart and agrees with Michael’s genius of a plan for Interstellar travel and search for a suitable replacement to our planet. (Hence, the name. Wow, such complexity! Did you get it, you guys? Gais? Did you get it?)

-So, if you’re expecting me to mention about the type of film Christopher Nolan uses, the special effects or all those intricate details, well, you’re in the wrong place. I don’t exactly have the most keen eye for that kind of thing but I can tell you for a fact that the movie looks absolutely drop-dead gorgeous. As a fan of Sci-Fi genre, I loved watching the different creative planets and the sight of Space in all his frightening beauty.  With the combined effort of wonderful CGI and realistic models of the actual ships (You know, instead of just taking the easy route and making a CGI spaceship, especially like the Transformers and the *insert sci-fi* movies), it creates this wonderful set of images that just captures your attention to its beauty and detail while at the same time, giving me nostalgic memories harkening back to the old Star Trek and Star Wars days, back before they just used CGI for the spaceships.

-But the music though… I may have no idea what they’re doing about with the type of film and all that kind of detail, but at least I’m familiar with the musical works of Han Zimmer. I believe Han Zimmer’s composition perfectly accompanied the movie through every single passing moment, peaceful melodies for the calm and tranquil shots of space and then swelling crescendos for the more high-octane and intense moments, all without detracting from the overall experience. The varying qualities of the music can make you go all sleepy and calm in one moment then to making you feeling pumped up and excited to another. So yeah, music is kinda good. I might buy the official soundtrack, maybe…

-My complaint would be the film’s handling of the side characters, in the fact that they never get a moment to shine and was terribly delegated to just being in the sidelines for most of the movie. I felt that the movie spends a lot of time establishing the relationship between Coop and his daughter but it barely spent any time about his son, ignoring him to the point I actually felt kinda bad for him, especially at the end. Wow, sucks to be the lesser child… Other noteworthy mentions would be the other astronauts that accompanies Coop throughout his fantastical trip to the stars. Supposedly representing the ‘best of Humanity’, the other astronauts (besides Anne Hathaway) was merely given the mere role as exposition giver, barely having any characteristics of their own, and when the time comes for them to actually do something to affect the film, they immediately get pushed away, as if the film was scolding them for trying to reach the spotlight and actually DO something. This happened so often to the point that my favourite characters ended up being the two uniquely-designed cube droids, dubbed CASE and TARS. Yeah, those guys are pretty cool…

-And that’s all I can think to say about the movie, to be honest. It’s a great movie, possibly one of the best movies I have ever watched this year, or maybe my entire year. It looks good, it sounds good and it has a great unpredictable story filled with many twists and turns that you’ll have a difficult time to guess what happens next. I expected a lot from this movie from the very first moment it was announced last year and somehow, this movie ended up smashing all of my expectations and reach for the stars beyond. (See, a relevant pun to end the post. That’s what all reviewers like to do, right? You guys? Guys?)

Leave a comment